WHAT IS A SECONDARY STYLE ELEMENT?

The secondary style element is part of the brand design, the corporate identity design. It‘s a visual element, often derived from the a creative logo design, that runs through every communication point like a visual constant. It holds together the entire look and feel of a business. It‘s often the secondary style element which makes a brand stay in people‘s minds more than any creative logo design!

In this article, you can see some examples of secondary style elements from my daily business routine.

 

CUBILE MONITORING HEALTH

 

I created the brand design for my client cubile monitoring health in summer 2018. Here you see the creative logo design, it‘s gif-animated in digital applications:

The yellow horizontal line, which can be longer or shorter in different cases, serves as the secondary style element for this brand design. It‘s repeated in the app icon, the letterhead, envelopes, the business cards, the modular fair wall, the brochure and the website.

LITTLE LUXURY

 

Little Luxury is a fictitious food brand in the gourmet sector, but still at an affordable price. I created the brand design and packaging design back in 2012. The creative logo design looks like this:

The dot above the i of "Little" is a drop; this drop serves as the secondary style element further on. You can find the drop on the olive oil bottle neck‘s ribbon, as a subtle background pattern for the gourmet mustard and background pattern for the BBQ sauces. This elegant drop can be found on every single packaging to remind of Litte Luxury.

DR. GASSER-PUCK

 

For my client Dr. Gasser-Puck, I chose a greatly enlarged part of the logo symbol to be the secondary style element. The company logo design looks as follows:

The entire brand design shows greatly enlarged parts of the curvy logo symbol. In order to bring more oomph into the brand design, the secondary style element is placed differently here and there. For example, there are three different versions of letterhead backsides and two different versions of business cards.

BAD UND HEIZUNG

 

In autumn 2018, I created the new brand design for BAD UND HEIZUNG (a plumbing business: bath and heating). Also here, a greatly enlarged part of the logo symbol serves as the secondary style element. The logo symbol shows a water and a heat wave.

The secondary style element is repeated on the letterhead, business cards, car stickers and the website.

TIROL BOX

 

For Tirol Box's creative logo design, I was inspired by the mountain shape of the Serles mountain and used dark brown charcoal outlines for the logo symbol in order to transport a feeling of nature.

This brand design has several secondary style elements that all come with a charcoal look: different Alpine flowers being printed inside the packaging, the Tirol Box chocolates show the main ingredients, illustrated with a charcoal pen. Image and text buttons on the website feature the natural charcoal look, too. And even stars in customer reviews are illustrated as Edelweiß blossoms with a dark brown charcoal outline. This guarantees a holistic look across all communication channels.

You can also download this article as a free whitepaper.

0

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

Qualitätsstandards Corporate Design

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

#10yearsHCG

SEKUNDÄRES STILELEMENT: WAS IST DAS?

Das sekundäre Stilelement ist ein Teil des Brand Designs, des Corporate Designs. Es ist ein Gestaltungselement, oftmals abgeleitet vom Logo Design, das sich wie eine visuelle Konstante durch alle Kommunikationsmittel durchzieht und ein Brand Design homogen „zusammenhält“. Oft ist es das sekundäre Stilelement, das eine Marke im Gedächtnis verankert, manchmal sogar mehr als das Logo selbst!

 

In diesem Artikel sehen Sie einige Beispiele für sekundäre Stilelemente aus meinem beruflichen Alltag.

 

CUBILE MONITORING HEALTH

 

Das Brand Design für meinen Kunden cubile monitoring health erstellte ich im Sommer 2018. Hier sehen Sie das Logo, das in digitalen Anwendungen übrigens gif-animiert ist:

Die gelbe horizontale Linie, die je nach Einsatz einmal kürzer oder länger sein kann, dient als sekundäres Stilelement für dieses Corporate Design. Sie ist im App Icon, auf dem Briefpapier, auf Kuverts, den Visitenkarten, der modularen Messewand, der Broschüre sowie auf der Website zu sehen.

LITTLE LUXURY

 

Bei Little Luxury geht es um eine fiktive Lebensmittelmarke im erschwinglichen Gourmet-Bereich. Das Corporate Design und Verpackungsdesign gestaltete ich im Jahre 2012. Das Logo sieht wie folgt aus:

Der i-Punkt von „Little“ ist ein Tropfen und dieser Tropfen dient als sekundäres Stilelement in weiterer Folge. Der Tropfen findet sich zB auf der Flaschenhals-Schleife des Olivenöls wieder, als dezentes Hintergrundmuster beim Gourmet-Senf und ebenfals als subtiles Hintergrundmuster bei den BBQ-Saucen. Dieser „edle Tropfen“ ist überall auf subtile Art und Weise eingebaut und erinnert an das Brand Design von Little Luxury.

DR. GASSER-PUCK

 

Bei meinem Kunden Dr. Gasser-Puck dient ein stark gezoomter Teil des Logosymbols als sekundäres Stilelement. Das Logo sieht so aus:

Im gesamten Brand Design ist das geschwungene Logosymbol immer wieder stark gezoomt zu sehen. Um dem Corporate Design mehr Pep zu verleihen, gestaltete ich den Einsatz des sekundären Stilelements flexibel. Das stark vergrößerte Logosymbol ist also immer wieder unterschiedlich platziert. So gibt es zum Beispiel beim Briefpapier drei unterschiedliche Varianten (3 verschiedene Rückseiten); die Visitenkarten gibt es in zwei verschiedenen Ausführungen.

BAD UND HEIZUNG

 

Im Herbst 2018 gestaltete ich das neue Corporate Design für die BAD UND HEIZUNG Installations-GmbH. Auch hier dient ein stark gezoomter Teil des Logosymbols als sekundäres Stilelement. Das Logosymbol besteht aus einer Wasser- und einer Hitzewelle.

Das sekundäre Stilelement findet sich zB auf dem Briefpapier, den Visitenkarten, der Autobeklebung und der Website wieder.

TIROL BOX

 

Für das Logo der Tirol Box ließ ich mich von der Bergkontur der Serles inspirieren und verwendete eine dunkelbraune Kohlekontur für das Logosymbol, um Erd- und Naturverbundenheit zu transportieren.

In diesem Corporate Design gibt es gleich mehrere sekundäre Stilelemente, wobei sich die Kohlekontur stets durchzieht: verschiedene alpine Blumen, die im Innenteil der Verpackungen gezeigt werden. Die Tirol Box Schokoladen zeigen die Kohlekontur bei der Illustration der Hauptzutaten. Auch bei den diversen Bilder- und Text-Buttons sowie den Edelweiß-Sternen bei Kundenbewertungen auf der Website arbeitete ich mit der gleichen Kohlekontur um einen einheitlichen Look zu gewährleisten.

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

0

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

#10yearsHCG