HOW TO CREATE A CORPORATE DESIGN

WHAT IS PART OF A CORPORATE DESIGN?

 

LOGO

 

The logo has to be created in different variations (i.e. landscape format, portrait format) and various colours (i.e. 4c = 4 colours, 1c positive and negative = 1 colour black and 1 colour white). Additionally, all relevant resolutions in pixel format and raw vector files (i.e. *.eps) have to be delivered to the client. This guarantees using the logo for every purpose without hassle.

 

COLOUR SCHEME

 

In order to secure colours to be printed 100 % correctly, it is recommended to work with spot colours (i.e. Pantone) that are selected with a colour matching fan. If there is no budget for using spot colours, CMYK colorus for print and RGB colours (or HEX colours) for digital purpose have to be determined

 

TYPOGRAPHY

 

Fonts are best being included into the corporate design concept in the form of a matrix that relates every purpose to its own font, font size and formatting. Depending on working with print or digital or both, different fonts for print and digital might be necessary. Besides that, the target group‘s characteristic has an influence on what font(s) to choose (people from different countries like different fonts).

 

SECONDARY STYLE ELEMENTS

 

This is about design elements that subconsciously remind clients of certain brands (or logos). These style elements are often derived from the logo and can be found in every print or online material of a company.

 

PRINCIPLE OF ARRANGEMENT

 

The principle of arrangement determines how design elements are placed in relation to each other and how big they are (i.e. arrangement in a triangle, in a rectangular etc.). Furthermore, the blank space around the logo is determined (so the logo has space to "breathe") as well as the minimum size to make sure font logos are readable.

 

MANUAL

 

The manual documents the corporate design concept for the client and gives valuable information of how to use the design.

 

HOW TO CREATE A CORPORATE DESIGN

 

BRIEFING

 

First of all, the target groups have to be defined from a geographic and a demographic aspect. The target groups‘ buying characteristics have to be laid open. Besides that, a "desired image" has to be determined. How does a company want to be seen by its clients? What emotions shall the corporate design convey to the target group?

 

RESEARCH

 

Various sources help finding material about the kind of business, the product and the country the target group lives in. Certain colours, shapes, symbols, historical events etc. help tailor the corporate design onto the client.

 

IDEAS

Different techniques help find good ideas. What things, shapes or colours transport emotions set in the briefing? Thinking outside of the box and being brave enough to try things that are "out of the norm" contribute to a unique design in the end.

 

DRAFTS

 

Based on the research results and the briefing, several logos and style elements are to be drafted. These drafts do not have to be a 100 % perfect, but they have to be distinctive enough for the client to visualize where the journey goes.

 

MATCHING

 

This is to make sure that the drafts match the criteria and attributes set in the briefing. This matching process reveals which drafts to skip and which ones to work on further.

 

CLIENT FEEDBACK

 

The best logo draft(s) is/are forwarded to the client. The client gives feedback and is explained the corporate design.

 

FINAL TOUCH

 

Based on the client feedback, the corporate design and logo are given a final touch to make everything look perfect.

"You want to get more background information on how I create a holistic brand? The FH St. Pölten University for Applied Sciences has interviewed me. You can read the interview here."

Helene Clara Gamper

You can also download this topic as a free whitepaper.

A handy audio version of this topic can be found in this podcast:

By the way, here you find out what 8 things make a good logo.

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

0

WIE EIN CORPORATE DESIGN ENTSTEHT

WAS GEHÖRT ZU EINEM CORPORATE DESIGN?

 

LOGO

 

Das Logo muss in verschiedenen Varianten (zB Querformat, Hochformat) und in diversen farblichen Ausführungen (zB 4c = 4-färbig, 1c positiv und negativ = 1-färbig schwarz und 1-färbig weiß) erstellt werden. Darüber hinaus muss das Logo in allen relevanten Auflösungen in Pixelformat und als Rohdatei in Vektorformat (zB *.eps) an den Kunden geliefert werden. Das garantiert einen problemlosen Einsatz des Logos für unterschiedliche Zwecke.

 

FARBSCHEMA

 

Um 100%ige Farbechtheit auf gedruckten Materialien sicherzustellen, empfiehlt sich der Einsatz von kostenpflichtigen Schmuckfarben (zB Pantone), die mit Hilfe von Farbfächern selektiert werden. Wenn für Farben kein Budget vorgesehen ist, muss man auf CMYK-Codes ausweichen für Print bzw. RGB-Codes (+ evtl. HEX-Codes) für den digitalen Einsatz.

 

TYPOGRAFIE

 

Das Schriftenschema wird am besten in einer Matrix erstellt, die jedem Verwendungszweck die passende Schriftart, -größe, -formatierung zuweist. Je nachdem, ob hauptsächlich mit Print oder Digital oder mit Beidem gearbeitet wird, müssen evtl. andere Schriften für Digital als für Print ausgewählt werden. Auch die Zielgruppe hat einen Einfluss auf die Typographie, so gibt es unterschiedliche Vorlieben in unterschiedlichen Ländern.

 

SEKUNDÄRE STILELEMENTE

 

Hier geht es um Designelemente, die vor allem im Unterbewusstsein an eine bestimmte Marke (oder an das Logo) erinnern. Oft sind diese Stilelemente mit dem Logo verwandt und ziehen sich durch alle Drucksorten und Online-Materialien.

 

ORDNUNGSPRINZIP

 

Das Ordnungsprinzip legt fest, in welcher Art und Weise diverse Designelemente zu platzieren sind und in welchem Verhältnis sie stehen (zB Dreiecks-Anordnung, quadratische Anordnung usw.). Außerdem werden die Schutzzone des Logos (= Raum zum „Atmen“ um das Logo herum) sowie Mindestgrößen für das Logo definiert. Dies garantiert zB die Lesbarkeit von Schriftlogos.

 

HANDBUCH

 

Im Handbuch wird das gesamte Corporate Design Konzept dokumentiert und es dient dem Kunden als Hilfestellung im Alltag.

 

WIE ENTSTEHT EIN CORPORATE DESIGN?

 

BRIEFING

 

Zuerst müssen Zielgruppen definiert werden, nach geografischen und demografischen Merkmalen, nach Kaufverhalten usw. Außerdem muss das „Wunschimage“ klar definiert werden. Wie will man von außen gesehen werden? Welche Emotionen soll das Corporate Design in der Zielgruppe wecken?

 

RECHERCHE

 

In diversen Quellen wird nach Material zur entsprechenden Branche, zum Produkt oder auch zum Land, aus dem der Kunde kommt, gesucht. Bestimmte Farben, Formen, Symbole, Rituale in der Geschichte usw. helfen das Corporate Design optimal auf den Kunden zuzuschneiden.

 

IDEEN

 

Verschiedene Techniken helfen bei der Ideenfindung. Welche Gegenstände, Formen oder Farben transportieren die Emotionen, die im Briefing definiert wurden? „Out of the box“ zu denken und mutig genug zu sein um abseits der üblichen Pfade zu gestalten, trägt maßgeblich zu einem einzigartigen Design bei.

 

ENTWÜRFE

 

Auf Basis der Recherche-Ergebnisse und der erarbeiteten Ideen werden mehrere Logos und Stilelemente entworfen. In diesem Schritt geht es um Rohzeichnungen. Die Entwürfe müssen nicht 100 % perfekt sein, müssen es dem Kunden aber ermöglichen zu sehen bzw. zu verstehen, wo die Reise hingehen soll.

 

ABGLEICH

 

Um die erarbeiteten Entwürfe richtig zu evaluieren, werden sie mit den im Briefing festgelegten Eigenschaften noch einmal abgeglichen und gegebenenfalls abgeändert.

 

KUNDENFEEDBACK

 

Der beste bzw. die besten Logoentwürfe werden mit dem Kunden besprochen und ihm wird das Corporate Design erklärt.

 

FEINSCHLIFF

 

Anhand des Kundenfeedbacks werden letzte Änderungen an Logo bzw. Corporate Design vorgenommen. Das Logo erhält den letzten Feinschliff.

"Sie möchten noch mehr Hintergrund-Information über meine Herangehensweise an Corporate Designs? Die FH St. Pölten hat mich für das Magazin 'gutgestalten' zum Thema Branding interviewt."

Helene Clara Gamper

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

Eine praktische Audio-Version dieses Themas gibt's in diesem Podcast:

8 Dinge, die ein richtig gutes Logo ausmachen, sehen Sie hier.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

0