NO PHOTOSHOP LOGO PLEASE!

There are company logo designers who create logos in Photoshop. Their clients are experiencing big issues with these logos, not only in the long run but in between too. Creating a logo with the right software helps - simply use vector software (i.e. Adobe Illustrator).

 

WHAT PROBLEMS DO PHOTOSHOP LOGOS CAUSE?

 

Photoshop is based on pixels and the output is an ordinary picture file. If you have ever enlarged a picture file, you will have noticed that it pixelates and looks terrible. This is why a company logo design created in Photoshop will cause a massive quality loss when scaling.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

created with Photoshop                            

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

created with Illustrator

 

Amending a company logo design created in Photoshop (i.e. changing the colour of the logo font) requires extensive work from pixel to pixel. A clean and efficient change of a company logo design is hardly possible with Photoshop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

colour change of a logo in Photoshop (not 100 % clean)

 

Exporting a Photoshop logo as a jpg file automatically generates a white background within the company logo design. This does occur with a jpg export from Adobe Illustrator too, but placing a vector logo file on a colour background is not only free from pixelations, it is also free from the annoying white background. Here you can see an example:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

placing a jpg logo (created in Photoshop)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

placing a vector logo (created in Illustrator)

 

As vector applications are normally used by professional designers only, company logo design files have to be sent to the client as a jpg or a png file, as well as the the vector files (*.eps or *.ai). Otherwise, the client does not have the possibility to see the company logo design.

A handy audio version of this topic can be found in this podcast:

You can also download this topic as a free whitepaper.

By the way, here you find out what 8 things make a good company logo design.

0

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

#10yearsHCG

BLOSS KEIN PHOTOSHOP-LOGO!

Wenn Sie ein Logo designen lassen, gibt es Corporate Designer, die Logos in Photoshop erstellen. Deren Kunden haben dann über kurz oder lang große Schwierigkeiten mit dem Logo. All das müsste nicht sein, würde man ein Logo designen lassen, das mit der richtigen Software erstellt wird - einer Vektorsoftware (zB Adobe Illustrator).

 

WELCHE PROBLEME BEREITET EIN PHOTOSHOP-LOGO?

 

Photoshop ist auf Pixelbasis aufgebaut und das Endprodukt ist eine gewöhnliche Bilddatei. Wer schon einmal eine Bilddatei (stark) vergrößert hat, weiß, dass das Bild pixelt und furchtbar aussieht. Mit einem in Photoshop erstellten Logo sind massive Qualitätsverluste also vorprogrammiert.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

in Photoshop erstellt                             

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

in Illustrator erstellt

 

Möchte man ein in Photoshop erstelltes Logo abändern (zB andere Farbe des Schriftzuges), so muss man Pixel für Pixel arbeiten. Ein sauberes, rasches und effizientes Ändern des Logos ist mit Photoshop kaum möglich.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Farbänderung des Logos in Photoshop (nicht 100 %ig sauber)

 

Der Export eines Photoshop-Logos in eine jpg-Bilddatei erzeugt einen weißen Hintergrund im Logobild. Allerdings geschieht dies auch beim jpg-Bildexport in zB Adobe Illustrator. Aber: Das Platzieren einer Vektor-Logodatei auf farbigem Hintergrund ist nicht nur frei von Verpixelungen, sondern auch frei von lästigem weißen Hintergrund. Hier ein Beispiel:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Verwendung des jpg-Logos (aus Photoshop)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Verwendung des Vektor-Logos (aus Illustrator)

 

Da Vektorprogramme in der Regel nur von Designern verwendet werden, müssen Logos zusätzlich zur Vektordatei (*.eps oder *.ai) auch als zB jpg- oder png-Bilddatei an den Kunden gesendet werden, da er sich das Logo sonst nicht ansehen kann.

Eine praktische Audio-Version dieses Themas gibt's in diesem Podcast:

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

In diesem Artikel erfahren Sie übrigens, welche 8 Dinge ein wirklich gutes Logo ausmachen.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

0

#10yearsHCG