THE POWER OF TYPOGRAPHY

Fonts don‘t only serve as a method to transport information. No, they are also an often underestimated design element. The choice of fonts has a big influence on the look and feel of a layout or design and either supports or totally destroys the message that has to come across.

 

Here you will see three different sets of advertisements. Every set shows the exact same photo and the exact same wording. However, the fonts are always different which makes the advertisements look very different. You will be surprised!

 

Advertisements including texts are imaginary for these examples.

 

EXAMPLE # 1: BUTTER

 

DISCOUNT BUTTER

This advertisement promotes butter in a food discounter. The most important information is of course the price that comes with a shadow (like in the "good old days"), a slanted box in yellow and red signal colours. This layout almost shouts at you "buy me, I am cheap". Perfect for discount supermarktes.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Arial black, Arial bold italic

 

SUPERMARKETS WITH A MID PRICE RANGE

The typography in this advertisement shifts the butter from discount-level up to a supermarket-level with a mid price range. The focus first lies on the header "Best Butter", then the price comes afterwards. The price is still emphasised by a white box, however it is much more subtle and more pleasant for the eye. The handwriting "extra spreadable" adds extra harmony to the design, but it is a rather average looking handwriting, nothing too special that makes you think of gourmet food.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: ArmWrestler bold, Papioscript semi-condensed italic, San Francisco Text regular, San Francisco Text bold

 

GOURMET STORE

This layout looks brilliant for a posh delicatessen store. Elegant capital letters with a manually optimised kerning harmonise very well with the opulent handwriting "extra spreadable". The photo is not overloaded by text, the font subtly accompanies the picture. The price information does not stand out because the price does not play a big role in a gourmet store.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Abraham Lincoln regular, Windsong regular, San Francisco Text italic

 

EXAMPLE # 2: CITY HOTEL IN BERLIN

 

STUDENT DIGS

The fonts in this layout make it look like a mix of a bad Halloween joke and student digs that shall be rented out on an hourly basis. This has nothing to do with a 3 star middle-class hotel in the heart of Berlin.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: 888 Torn Sound regular, Comic Neue Angular bold

 

OUT OF FASHION

The font for the hotel name in this example looks very much out of fashion, as if the hotel owner would think we still lived in the 70ies. This advertisement will probably not make anybody want to stay there.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Abalaris regular, Abadi MT condensed regular

 

CLASSIC AND CONSERVATIVE

This layout targets a moneyed clientele, aged 45 +. The typography makes the hotel look conservative, however it does not look old-fashioned. Classic and conservative, it reminds me of Grand Hotel style advertisements.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Dossel Lane regular, Lato light

 

MODERN LUXURY HOTEL

Wide-spaced majuscules give this layout a timeless look. The header stands strong. The modern font for the claim transports a feel of lightness and optimism and is likeable. A beautiful harmony in the font mixing, perfectly embedded into the background picture, gives this design room to breathe and looks elegant and luxurious.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Habibi regular, Lato light italic

 

EXAMPLE # 3: LUXURY WATCHES

 

NOT EVEN GOOD ENOUGH FOR THE DISCOUNTER

This advertisement shall promote luxury watches. However, the choice and mix of fonts destroys the luxury feel completely. Too "outstanding" fonts that compete with each other instead of supporting each other, they also don‘t go with the promoted product. This typography generates disharmony and destroys the white space next to the watches. This layout looks cheap and would not even survive the market launch phase in a discounter.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Moonshiner Oblique Lines, Epochic regular

BLING BLING FOR THE SUPERMARKET

This layout could work well in a supermarket that wants to add some "bling bling" feeling to the watches. Using Copperlate Gothic (yes, we all know it ...), they try to force some sort of luxury onto the advertisement. However, this really backfires. The watch would probably not be of any interest for a jeweller. Too old-fashioned, too average, too "wannabe" luxury (especially because of the small caps of Copperlate Gothic). For a certain type of clientele, this could work in supermarket shelves, but that‘s about it.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Copperlate Gothic regular, Tottingham regular

 

LUXURIOUS, TIMELESS, ELEGANT - FOR THE JEWELLER

This layout is a perfect symbiosis of product picture and typography. The font focus lies on "Time & Luxury", a modern, slightly broken font transports consistency. The curly "&" sign enlaces and connects "Time" and "Luxury" in an artful way. There is a beautiful white space, a subtle dividing element and a claim in a classic and elegant font with high contrast as well as elegant serifs underneath. The advertisement has a lot of harmony, looks trustworthy and perfectly fits in a jewellery store.

 

Fonts from top to bottom: Tergo regular, Questa grande regular

"You like these advertisement designs? Then I have a tip for you:
You can buy graphic design hour packages in my online shop by clicking here."

Helene Clara Gamper

As you can see, the choice of fonts has a very big influence on the entire look and feel. For example, you would never want to spend much on the discount butter, the price is the deciding factor there. On the other hand, the advertisement for the gourmet butter transports a completely different message, even though the photo and wording are exactly the same. We would all spend three or four (or even more) Euro on that gourmet butter, wouldn‘t we?

 

Using fonts requires design skills to make or break a poster/flyer/advertisement etc. Typography has more power than you would have thought!

You can also download this topic as a free whitepaper.

Still want to know more about typography and fonts? Find out the secrets about typography here.

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

0

DIE MACHT DER TYPOGRAPHIE

Schriften dienen nicht nur der Informationsvermittlung. Nein, sie sind auch ein nicht zu unterschätzendes Gestaltungselement. Die Wahl der Schrift hat einen starken Einfluss auf den „Look and Feel“ eines Layouts bzw. eines Designs und unterstützt oder zerstört somit eine Werbebotschaft.

 

Hier sehen Sie drei unterschiedliche Inserat-Sets. Jedes Set hat das exakt gleiche Foto und den exakt gleichen Text. Lediglich die Schriftgestaltung ist unterschiedlich. Das Inserat wirkt jedes Mal anders, Sie werden überrascht sein!

 

Die Inserate, Texte und Werbebotschaften wurden für diese Beispiele frei erfunden.

 

BEISPIEL # 1: BUTTER

 

DISKONTER-WARE

Dieses Inserat bewirbt Butter in einem Lebensmittel-Diskonter. Die wichtigste Information ist der Preis, der mit Schlagschatten (wie in der „guten alten Zeit“) und einem schräg gestellten Störer in rot-gelben Signalfarben versehen ist. Dieses Layout schreit regelrecht „kauf mich, ich bin billig“. Perfekt für den Diskonter.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Arial black, Arial bold italic

 

SUPERMARKT IM MITTLEREN PREISSEGMENT

Die Typographie in diesem Inserat hebt die Butter von der Diskonter-Ware hinauf in den Supermarkt im mittleren Preissegment. Der Fokus liegt zunächst auf der Überschrift „Beste Butter“, dann auf dem Preis, der zwar immer noch durch einen Störer hervorgehoben ist, jedoch wesentlich dezenter und angenehmer auf das Auge wirkt. Die Handschrift „besonders streichfähig“ bringt etwas Harmonie rein, ist aber eine gewöhnliche Handschrift, die nicht an exklusive, teure Ware erinnert.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: ArmWrestler bold, Papioscript semi-condensed italic, San Francisco Text regular, San Francisco Text bold

 

GOURMET-GESCHÄFT

Dieses Layout passt perfekt zu einem etwas höher-preisigen Delikatessen-Geschäft. Elegante Großbuchstaben mit manuell optimiertem Kerning harmonieren ausgesprochen gut mit der opulenten, ausladenden Handschrift „besonders streichfähig“. Das Foto wird nicht von der Typographie übertönt, die Schrift dient als subtiler Begleiter des Bildes. Der Preis fällt erst auf den zweiten Hingucker auf, weil der Preis hier auch keine große Rolle spielt.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Abraham Lincoln regular, Windsong regular, San Francisco Text italic

 

BEISPIEL #2: STADTHOTEL IN BERLIN

 

STUDENTENBUDE

Dieses Layout sieht durch die Schrift aus wie eine Mischung aus schlechtem Halloween-Scherz und Studentenbude, die stundenweise vermietet werden soll. Mit einem guten 3-Stern-Mittelklasse-Hotel im Herzen Berlins hat das wenig zu tun.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: 888 Torn Sound regular, Comic Neue Angular bold

 

AUS DER MODE GEKOMMEN

Die Schrift für den Hotelnamen in diesem Beispiel wirkt ziemlich altbacken, als wäre das Hotel in den 70er Jahren hängen geblieben. Dieses Sujet wird wohl auch kaum Gäste anlocken.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Abalaris regular, Abadi MT condensed regular

 

KLASSISCH-KONSERVATIV

Dieses Layout spricht eine betuchte Kundschaft an, die mind. 45 Jahre alt ist. Die Typographie lässt das Sujet zwar etwas konservativ wirken, dennoch nicht altbacken. Klassisch-konservativ, erinnert etwas an Grand-Hotel-Sujets.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Dossel Lane regular, Lato light

 

MODERNES LUXUSHOTEL

Weit spazionierte Majuskeln geben diesem Layout eine zeitlose Optik. Die Überschrift steht stark im Raum. Die moderne Schrift für den Claim strahlt Leichtigkeit und Optimismus aus und erzeugt Sympathie. Eine schöne Harmonie in der Schriftenmischung, perfekt eingebettet in das Hintergrundbild, geben diesem Design Raum zum Atmen und wirken edel und luxuriös.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Habibi regular, Lato light italic

 

BEISPIEL #3: LUXUS-UHREN

 

NICHT EINMAL GUT GENUG FÜR DEN DISKONTER

In diesem Sujet sollen Luxus-Uhren beworben werden. Allerdings machen sowohl die Schriftenauswahl als auch die Schriftenmischung diesen Luxus-Touch komplett zunichte. Zu außergewöhnliche Schriften, die miteinander konkurrieren anstatt zu harmonieren, passen auch nicht zum beworbenen Produkt. Die Typographie bringt Unruhe in den Weißraum neben den Uhren. Dieses Layout wirkt billig und würde nicht einmal die Markteinführung in einem Diskonter bestehen.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Moonshiner Oblique Lines, Epochic regular

BLING BLING FÜR DEN SUPERMARKT

Dieses Sujet könnte gut für einen Supermarkt funktionieren, der den Uhren etwas „Bling Bling“-Feeling verleihen möchte. Mit der allseits bekannten Copperlate Gothic versucht man hier zwanghaft einen gewissen Luxus-Feel reinzubekommen. Leider geht der Schuss nach hinten los. Die Uhr würde in einem Juwelier-Geschäft wahrscheinlich niemanden vom Hocker hauen. Zu altbacken, zu gewöhnlich, zu „Möchtegern-Luxus“ (vor allem durch die Kapitälchen bei Copperlate Gothic). Für eine gewisse Käuferschicht in Supermarkt-Regalen könnte dieses Sujet funktionieren, das war‘s dann aber auch schon.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Copperlate Gothic regular, Tottingham regular

 

LUXURIÖS, ELEGANT UND ZEITLOS - FÜR DEN JUWELIER

Bei diesem Layout bilden Produktbild und Typographie eine perfekte Symbiose. Der typografische Fokus liegt auf „Time & Luxury“, eine moderne, leicht gebrochene Schrift vermittelt Beständigkeit. Das geschwungene „&“-Zeichen umschlingt und verbindet „Time“ und „Luxury“ auf raffinierte Art und Weise. Es gibt einen schönen Weißraum, ein dezentes Trennelement und darunter den Claim in einer klassisch- eleganten Schrift mit hohem Kontrast sowie edlen Serifen. Das Sujet wirkt stimmig und harmonisch und passt perfekt in ein Juwelier-Geschäft.

 

Schriften von oben nach unten: Tergo regular, Questa grande regular

"Ihnen gefallen die Inserat-Designs? Dann habe ich hier einen Tipp für Sie:

In meinem Online-Shop können Sie Stunden-Kontingente für mein Grafikdesign direkt kaufen."

Helene Clara Gamper

Wie Sie sehen, hat die Wahl der Schriften einen sehr großen Einfluss auf den gesamten „Look and Feel“. Für die Diskontbutter zum Beispiel würde man sicher nicht viel ausgeben wollen, der Preis ist das wichtigste Entscheidungskriterium. Das Inserat für die Gourmet-Butter hingegen transportiert eine völlig andere Botschaft, obwohl Wortlaut und Foto identisch zum Diskonter-Inserat sind. Für die Gourmet- Butter würden wir alle wohl locker drei oder vier Euro hinlegen (vielleicht sogar mehr).

 

Der Einsatz von Schriften will also gut überlegt sein, denn er kann einem Layout bzw. einer Werbebotschaft die Krone aufsetzen oder alles komplett zerstören. In diesem Sinne: Gehen Sie sorgsam mit Typographie um, sie ist mächtiger, als Sie dachten!

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

Sie wollen mehr über Typographie erfahren? Dann sehen Sie sich hier die Geheimnisse der Schriften genauer an.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

0