WORKING WITH CAPITAL LETTERS

If you want to emphasize certain text parts on a flyer, poster, website etc., some people tend to simply format everything bold; or putting the text in majuscules (= capital letters).

All big = all important, no? Well, it‘s not that easy. Every font has its micro-typographic characteristics (letter width, cap height, baseline, midline, counter etc.) which you want to use for your advantage.

On this page, you can find some things you should take notice of when working with capital letters.

THE GAP BETWEEN EACH LETTER

 

A well made font should have a good tracking that supports good readability. (tracking, also known as letterspacing or character spacing = the gap between each letter)

AVATAR

"Adam.CG Pro",

good tracking

AVATAR

"BorisBlackBloxx",

good tracking, a bit tight though

AVATAR

"Acappella",

bad tracking,
see A-R gap

As majuscules are big and big things need space to breathe in order to take full effect, it makes sense to space capital letters. This means that you manually extend the empty space between each letter. When working with a lot of copy, it makes sense to set an automatic letterspacing in the paragraph styles (i.e. Adobe Indesign) so you can use this paragraph style for all your majuscule copy with ease. However, the gaps between words should always be de-spaced again afterwards.

Another thing to consider: You should never letterspace too wide in order not to affect readability. But how much should you letterspace, is there a golden rule? No, not really, it always depends on the look of the font. In the end, you want to have a harmonious whole, sometimes a spacing of only five percent is enough, sometimes 80 percent are okay too. Good graphic designers and typographers recognize the ideal "dose".

If you want to have a perfect look (very important for logos for example), you should look at the spacing of each single word and always manually optimize the spacing between each letter. I tend to zoom in and out and even print fonts to achieve a perfect letterspacing (things look different when printed compared to on a screen!).

Letterspaced majuscule text looks better than without manual spacing:

Original logo "Tommy Hilfiger" with wide letterspacing

Logo "Tommy Hilfiger" without manual letterspacing (normal spacing)

A very wide letterspacing without de-spacing the gaps between words often destroys the readability. But the exception proves the rule. This effect can be used on purpose for a logo, seen in the logo of Victoria Beckham‘s fashion label "Victoria Beckham". As her name was well-known before her fashion career, people would have no problem with reading the logo. Leaving out the crossbar in the A majuscule, the M majuscule‘s reduced simplicity, that would be a W majuscule if turned upside down, and the extremely wide letterspacing make the logo a strong and confident trade mark which is dominantly taking up a lot of space, but is still subtle and reduced to the basics. This is exactly what Victoria Beckham‘s fashion embodies and this message is transported in the logo.

Original logo "Victoria Beckham"

Fonts with a spacious letter width are very suitable for capital letter copy, in my opinion. Attention: Fonts with a very slim letter width should not be spaced too wide because the letters can easily look "lost in the air".

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Avenir" (medium letter width)

normal letterspacing

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Avenir" (medium letter width)

spaced by + 20 %

(word gap de-spaced)

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Broadsheet" (wide letter width)

normal letterspacing

font with no good letterspacing

(see P-A-C gaps).

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Broadsheet" (wide letter width)

spaced by + 60 %
(word gap de-spaced)

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Akrobat Regular" (narrow letter width)
normal letterspacing

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Akrobat Regular" (narrow letter width)
spaced by + 60 %
(word gap de-spaced)
A bit difficult to read due to a too wide letterspacing and a too narrow letter width.

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

""Akrobat Regular" (narrow letter width)
spaced by + 20 %
(word gap de-spaced)
Better readability due to a minimal letterspacing for these narrow letters.

Black letters, italic styles and hand letterings are less suitable for putting them in capital letters:

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Gothic Regular DB" 
black letters

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Brush 77 Regular"
hand lettering

If capital letters are spread over several lines, you should also consider the leading. (leading = empty space between two lines of text). The example below shows a leading that is so small that even the Ü dots (a typical German character) of the word "drüber" extend into the D majuscule of "reden". Not good for the readability, but in this case it might be a style effect consciously chosen by the editorial designer:

Quote from the magazine "Barbara" (No. 22), serif font with a high contrast in italic style in capital letters. (contrast = the lines of a letter show different thicknesses. Example for a strong contrast:  Männer; example for no contrast:  Männer.)

Header in the magazine "Barbara" (No. 22), sans-serif font without contrast, without visible letterspacing. Places framed by red rectangles should have been letterspaced, I think.

EMPHASIZING PARTS OF TEXT

 

When text is put in capital letters, you might ask yourself: How can I emphasize certain parts of text within capital letters? There are different methods to do this.

 

USING DIFFERENT FONT STYLES AND/OR FONT SIZES

Print advertisement "Nivea Mizellen Shampoo"

 

In this example, the corporate font is used in a bold ("Neu", "Mizellen Shampoo") and in a light style ("Extra gründlich. Extra Mild."). In addition to that, the raspberry pink box ("Neu") with white, bold font stands out nicely, still looking subtle and in line with the corporate design.

By the way: The corporate font of the trade mark "Nivea" is very distinctive as it‘s mostly used in bold style, it looks very strong due to the lack of any contrast and some majuscules like "M" or "N" go beyond the cap height (= upper end of a capital letter) and the baseline (= imaginary line which a letter "sits" on).

Print advertisement "2. Tiroler Lange Nacht des Sports", using different font styles (regular and bold) and font sizes

When working with different sizes within the same font, I recommend to work with symmetric values. The human eye likes symmetry which is also why people with symmetric facial features are considered to be very attractive. So don‘t simply make a word bigger than another one, but make it bigger by i.e. 50 % of a square. (Square in typography: If you place an imaginary square on top of a capital letter, whereas the height-width-relation of the letter should be covered. It‘s basically a symmetric size, a square with four equally long sides that displays the "size" of a capital letter.)

When working with squares or square parts, you make sure to introduce a certain consistency in your copy and design. This improves the overall look.

 

 

USING DIFFERENT COLOURS

 

You can achieve interesting effects by deleting the gaps between words and using different colours for the words. But be careful: Two colours are enough in most cases, don‘t overdo it here. Having every word in a different colour makes the copy (or the logo) easily look cheap and unprofessional.

"Haus der Begegnung" in Innsbruck, photo: Diözese Innsbruck.

MIXING DIFFERENT FONTS

 

Mixing different fonts is a bit delicate. If you are not familiar with how to mix fonts professionally, you might want to not even do this and use other methods of emphasizing capital letters. Otherwise, it can easily look cheap and unprofessional.

"Avenir Roman", + 10 % letterspacing, de-spaced word gaps;
"advent Bold3", + 10 % letterspacing, 125 % letter width

positive example of font mixing (same letter width, manual adjustment of cap height and baseline)

"Avenir Roman", + 10 % letterspacing, de-spaced word gaps;
"Source Code Pro Semibold", + 10 % letterspacing, 100 % letter width

negative example of font mixing (different letter widths, different cap heights and baselines)

By the way: Many interesting facts and insights about fonts can be found in the German Typolexikon by Wolfgang Beinert from Berlin. I can really recommend his typography workshops, too.

You can also download this article as a free whitepaper.

Find out more about the power of typography in this article.

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

0

ARBEITEN MIT GROSSBUCHSTABEN

Will man auf einem Flyer, einem Poster, einer Website usw. eine bestimmte Textpassage besonders hervorheben, neigen manche dazu, alles einfach fett zu formatieren; oder aber den Text in Majuskeln (= Großbuchstaben) zu setzen.

 

Alles groß = alles wichtig, oder? Naja, ganz so einfach ist es dann doch nicht. Jede Schrift hat ihre mikrotypografischen Eigenheiten (Dickte, Oberlänge, Unterlänge, x-Höhe, Punze usw.) und die gilt es gekonnt für seine Zwecke zu nutzen.

 

Hier erfahren Sie ein paar Dinge, auf die beim Arbeiten mit Großbuchstaben Rücksicht genommen werden sollte.

DER ABSTAND ZWISCHEN DEN BUCHSTABEN

 

Eine gut gemachte Schrift sollte von Haus aus eine Laufweite haben, die einer guten Lesbarkeit dient. (Laufweite = Abstand zwischen den einzelnen Buchstaben)

AVATAR

"Adam.CG Pro",

gute Laufweite

AVATAR

"BorisBlackBloxx",

gute Laufweite, wenn auch etwas eng

AVATAR

"Acappella",

schlechte Laufweite,

siehe A-R-Zwischenraum

Da Majuskeln groß sind und Großes Luft zum Atmen braucht um seine volle Wirkung zu entfalten, macht es Sinn, Wörter in Großbuchstaben zu spationieren. Das bedeutet, dass man den Zwischenraum zwischen einzelnen Buchstaben manuell erweitert. Beim Arbeiten mit einer großen Textmenge reicht meistens eine Spationierung, die man in den Absatzformaten (in zB Adobe Indesign) einmal anlegt, sodass sie dann automatisch auf alle Majuskel-Passagen angewendet werden kann. Die Wortzwischenräume sollten jedoch grundsätzlich wieder ent-spationiert werden.

 

Außerdem sollte man generell nie zu weit spationieren, um die Lesbarkeit nicht zu beeinträchtigen. Doch wie viel soll nun spationiert werden, gibt es eine goldene Regel? Nein, das hängt immer vom optischen Erscheinungsbild der Schrift ab. Ziel ist ein harmonisches Ganzes, manchmal reicht eine Spationierung von lediglich fünf Prozent, manchmal können es auch 80 Prozent sein. Gute Grafikdesigner  und Typographen erkennen die richtige „Dosis“.

 

Wer es ganz perfekt machen will (zB bei Logos ist dies unerlässlich), sollte sich die Laufweite eines jeden einzelnen Wortes genau ansehen und die Abstände zwischen allen Buchstaben einzeln manuell optimieren für ein perfektes Endergebnis. Ich zoome zu diesem Zweck den Text immer wieder rein und raus und drucke die Ergebnisse teilweise sogar aus (gedruckt wirken die Dinge immer ein bisschen anders als auf dem Bildschirm!).

Ein Majuskel-Text, der spationiert ist, sieht besser aus als ohne Laufweiten-Ausgleich:

Original-Logo „Tommy Hilfiger“ mit weitem Laufweiten-Ausgleich

Logo „Tommy Hilfiger“ ohne Spationierung (mit normaler Laufweite)

Eine sehr weite Spationierung ohne Ent-Spationierung des Wortzwischenraumes zerstört in der Regel die Lesbarkeit. Doch Ausnahmen bestätigen bekanntermaßen die Regel und so kann dieser Effekt ganz bewusst in einem Logo genutzt werden. Gesehen im Logo des Modelabels „Victoria Beckham“. Victoria Beckham war schon vor ihrem Modelabel bekannt, man kann ihren Namen also problemlos lesen. Das bewusste Weglassen des Querstriches in der A-Majuskel, die reduzierte Einfachheit der M-Majuskel, die umgedreht eine W-Majuskel wäre, und die extrem weite Laufweite machen das Logo zu einem Markenzeichen, das stark und selbstbewusst im Raum steht, dominant ist, viel Platz einnimmt und trotzdem subtil wirkt und auf wesentliche „Basics“ reduziert ist. Genau dies verkörpert Victoria Beckhams Mode, und diese Message wiederholt sich gekonnt im Logo.

Original-Logo „Victoria Beckham“

Schriften mit einer großzügigen Buchstabenbreite (= Dickte) eignen sich meiner Meinung nach besonders gut um in Großbuchstaben gesetzt zu werden. Achtung: Bei Schriften, deren Buchstaben eine geringe Dickte aufweisen, also ziemlich eng sind, sollte man nicht zu viel spationieren, sonst verlieren sich die Buchstaben allzu leicht „in der Luft“.

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Avenir" (mittelmäßige Dickte)

normale Laufweite

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Avenir" (mittelmäßige Dickte)

spationiert um + 20 %

(Wortzwischenraum ent-spationiert)

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Broadsheet" (weite Dickte)

normale Laufweite

Schrift mit schlechter Laufweite

(siehe P-A-T-Zwischenräume).

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Broadsheet" (weite Dickte)

spationiert um + 60 %

(Wortzwischenraum ent-spationiert)

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Akrobat Regular" (geringe Dickte)

normale Laufweite

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Akrobat Regular" (geringe Dickte)

spationiert um + 60 %

(Wortzwischenraum ent-spationiert)

Etwas schwierig zu lesen, da zu weite Spationierung bei einer zu geringen Dickte.

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Akrobat Regular" (geringe Dickte)

spationiert um + 20 %

(Wortzwischenraum ent-spationiert)

Besser lesbar, da die Spationierung bei geringer Dickte nur minimal ausfällt.

Gebrochene Schriften, kursive Schnitte und Handschriften eignen sich weniger für Majuskel-Texte:

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Gothic Regular DB" 

gebrochene Schrift

SCHRIFT SPATIONIEREN

"Brush 77 Regular"

Handschrift

Sind Texte in Großbuchstaben über mehrere Zeilen verteilt, so sollte auch der Durchschuss in Betracht gezogen werden. (Durchschuss = Leerraum zwischen zwei Textzeilen). Im Beispiel unten wurde der Durchschuss so stark verkleinert, dass sogar die Ü-Punkte des Wortes „drüber“ in die D-Majuskel von „reden“ hineinragen. Nicht gut für die Lesbarkeit, aber wohl ein bewusst gewähltes Stilmittel des Mediengestalters:

Zitat aus der Zeitschrift „Barbara“ (No. 22), Serifenschrift mit starkem Kontrast in kursivem Schnitt in Großbuchstaben gesetzt. (Kontrast = Linien eines Buchstabens sind unterschiedlich dick. Beispiel starker Kontrast: Männer; Beispiel kein Kontrast: Männer.)

Überschrift aus der Zeitschrift „Barbara“ (No. 22), serifenlose Grotesk-Schrift ohne Kontrast, ohne sichtbaren Laufweiten-Ausgleich. Rot eingerahmten Stellen hätte eine manuelle Spationierung gut getan.

HERVORHEBUNG VON TEXTPASSAGEN

 

Wenn Text in Großbuchstaben gesetzt ist, stellt sich die Frage: Wie kann man denn einzelne Wörter bzw. Wortgruppen noch hervorheben? Hier gibt es unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten.

 

VERSCHIEDENE SCHRIFTSCHNITTE UND/ODER SCHRIFTGRÖSSEN VERWENDEN

Print-Werbesujet A4 „Nivea Mizellen Shampoo“

 

Hier wird die Firmenschrift in einem fetten („Neu“-Störer, „Mizellen Shampoo“) und einem leichten Schnitt („Extra gründlich. Extra Mild.“) verwendet. Zusätzlich sorgt der himbeerfarbene Störer („Neu“) mit weißer Schrift in fettem Schnitt für eine Hervorhebung, die jedoch subtil aussieht und mit dem Corporate Design konform ist.

 

Übrigens: Die Firmenschrift der Marke „Nivea“ ist sehr markant, da sie in den meisten Fällen in fett eingesetzt wird, durch den fehlenden Kontrast stark im Raum steht und einige Majuskeln wie zB „M“ und „N“ über die H-Linie (= oberes Ende eines Großbuchstabens) und die Grundlinie (= imaginäre Linie, auf der ein Buchstabe „sitzt“) hinausragen.

Print-Werbesujet „2. Tiroler Lange Nacht des Sports“, verschiedene Schriftschnitte (regular und fett) und Schriftgrößen

Beim Arbeiten mit unterschiedlichen Größen der gleichen Schrift empfehle ich mit symmetrischen Werten zu arbeiten. Unser menschliches Auge liebt Symmetrie und „Gleichmäßiges“; nicht umsonst werden Menschen mit symmetrischen Gesichtszügen als besonders attraktiv empfunden. Also nicht ein Wort x-beliebig größer machen als das andere, sondern zB um 50 % eines Gevierts größer machen. (Geviert: Wenn man ein imaginäres Quadrat über einen Großbuchstaben legt, wobei das Höhe-Breite-Verhältnis eines Buchstabens abgedeckt werden soll. Es ist also nichts Anderes als eine symmetrische Größe, ein Quadrat mit vier gleich langen Seiten, das die „Größe“ eines Großbuchstabens darstellen soll.)

Wenn man mit Gevierten oder Geviert-Teilen arbeitet, stellt man eine gewisse Konstante im Größenverhältnis einzelner Schrift- bzw. Designelemente sicher, was der verbesserten Optik sehr zuträglich ist.

 

 

VERSCHIEDENE FARBEN EINSETZEN

 

Interessante Effekte ergeben sich auch, wenn man die Wortzwischenräume komplett entfernt und die Wörter in unterschiedlichen Farben formatiert. Aber Achtung: Die Dosis macht das Gift. Zwei Farben sind in den meisten Fällen genug. Jedes Wort anders zu färben, würde die Textpassage (oder das Typologo) sehr schnell billig und unprofessionell wirken lassen.

Das „Haus der Begegnung“ in Innsbruck, Foto: Diözese Innsbruck.

VERSCHIEDENE SCHRIFTEN MISCHEN

 

Etwas heikel ist die Mischung unterschiedlicher Schriften. Wenn man mit der Thematik des Schriftmischens nicht vertraut ist, sollte man es besser bleiben lassen und andere Methoden der Text-Hervorhebung bei Großbuchstaben verwenden, sonst sieht ein Text sehr schnell „billig“ und unprofessionell aus.

„Avenir Roman“, + 10 % Laufweite, ent-spationierte Wortzwischenräume;

„advent Bold3“, + 10 % Laufweite, 125 % Zeichenbreite

positives Beispiel Schriftmischung (Dicktengleiche, manueller Abgleich Oberlinie und Grundlinie)

„Avenir Roman“, + 10 % Laufweite, ent-spationierte Wortzwischenräume;

„Source Code Pro Semibold“, + 10 % Laufweite, 100 % Zeichenbreite

negatives Beispiel Schriftmischung (unterschiedliche Dickte, unterschiedliche Ober- und Grundlinie)

Übrigens: Viele interessante Infos zum Thema Schriften finden Sie im Typolexikon von Wolfgang Beinert aus Berlin. Ich kann Ihnen seine Typografie-Workshops wirklich ans Herz legen - vollgespickt mit wertvollen Infos und praxistauglichen Schrift-Kniffen.

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

Mehr zum Thema Typographie lesen Sie in meinem Artikel über "Die Macht der Typographie".

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

0