HOW TO BEST USE INFOGRAPHICS

You can hardly imagine a world without infographics any more. The reason? Infographics simply make it to transport a (complex) message so much faster and better than plain text.

Infographics are 30 x more likely read than plain text.

Sources: marketingfish.de, HubSpot

Visual content generates
94 % more views.

Sources: Buffer, HubSpot

We retain 80 % of what we see; 20 % of what we read; and 10 % of what we hear.

Sources: Buffer, HubSpot

Visual content is rated among the top 5 most effective B2B marketing methods.

Source: HubSpot

TYPES OF INFOGRAPHICS

 

There are different types of data visualisations:

 

I   a static infographic (a classic, static image file) >> example

I   a gifographic (an animated gif image file) >> example

I   a web-based infographic (slightly animated, i.e. with HTML5) >> example

I   a specifically programmed, web-based infographic with interactions >> example

 

By the way: The Google Data Gif Maker allows you to quickly and easily create your own simple gifographic in Google Material Design - without hiring a graphic designer. You can read my test report about it here.

GREAT WAYS TO USE INFO-/GIFOGRAPHICS

PRINT PROMOTION MATERIALS

 

How many print promotion materials do you receive by mail per week? Five, ten, fifteen or more? And how many of them do you really pay attention to, how many do you read? Probably one or two - if any.

Classic print promotion materials cost a lot of postage money and have an ROI (return on investment) of often less than 3 %. As infographics are read 30 x more likely than plain text, it is definitely worth designing your print promotion as an infographic. This significantly increases your chance to multiply your ROI.

A few years ago (2013), I designed an infographic that was sent out by print mail, for the Hamburg based advertising material agency Kleine & Jockers.

"The infographic on merchandising products is really great. We wanted to transport this topic in an easy and uncomplicated way. We, and most importantly our clients, think that HCG has executed this wonderfully. Our clients shall instantly think of merchandising products as a cheap and effective advertisement method when reading this infographic. Working with HCG was uncomplicated and professional, the design was in the best hands."

 

Andreas Kleine, Kleine & Jockers GmbH

Hamburg, Germany

MICRO CONTENT ON SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Content marketing is used by many businesses to get new clients, emotionally binding existing clients and to boost the image. In the past, it was predominantly used in the B2C sector, but the B2B industry is catching up fast. Especially on social media it is important to capture people‘s attention quickly. And this is where micro content comes into play. Micro content are little pieces of information that can be consumed quickly and can easily be shared. Small infographics or (better for social media) small animated gifographics are fantastic to grab the user‘s attention! Also, people simply like sharing such micro content on social networks.

I, too, use animated gifographics as micro content, here you see an example:

(Copyright: HCG corporate designs)

I also use quotes as micro content:

"I have a tip for you:
You can get gifographics and 'light' infographics here in my online shop."

Helene Clara Gamper

LANDING PAGE

 

A landing page or website with infographic elements and subtle animations is a great way to promote a product or service. But it can also be used for simple storytelling, which I personally love. An infographic landing page is liked by so many people out there, so take advantage of it!

When HCG corporate designs turned 5 years (in 2015), I created such a web-based infographic with HTML5 (WIX) as a standalone website.

The steps involved in creating annual report apps, I show in storytelling format on a separate landing page (the landing page is in German language only, but I of course create annual report apps in English language too).

 

 

POSTERS AT EVENTS

 

Infographic posters are true eyecatchers on trade fairs, any other events or in public space. The ability to grasp information fast thanks to infographics is a true competitive advantage on trade fairs, because so many booths compete with each other.

EDITORIAL CONTENT

 

As infographics transport complex data fast and in a way that the data is actually understood, they of course are great for editorial content. Publishers are facing very challenging times, so such attractive editorial content is for sure a nice thing to publish.

On the right you see a (static) infographic I designed for a magazine back in 2014. It was printed on an A4 page.

Below you see an interactive iPad infographic that I designed and implemented for one of my app magazine clients back in 2015.

KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER AT SCHOOLS

 

At school or university, it is important to easily understand complex situations and/or numerical data. This is why schools, universities and other educational institutions should use more infographics, in my opinion.

 

 

USER MANUALS

 

Imagine you have to put together a chair for example. Would you prefer doing that by reading through a text which describes how to srew that chair together? Or would you prefer to look at a graphic or illustration that shows what screw has to go where etc. ?

The Swedish furniture giant Ikea uses infographics not only for pieces of furniture, but has also introduced them for Swedish food recipes. Take a look at this:

Photo: Leo Burnett

 

See more in this video:

ONE MESSAGE IN SEVERAL LANGUAGES

 

If you want to transport a message in several languages at the same time, you cannot do without infographics. There is no other way of visual information transfer that needs such little text (or no text at all!).

"I create infographics for print and digital, static and animated. Almost every topic can be turned into a perfect graphic landscape and thus be 30 times more likely noted by your target group than ordinary text.

As a designer I often deal with corporate designs and branding. This is why I place importance on my infographics to perfectly match my clients’ look and feel. Every infographic I design is based on a concept with regards to colours, shapes, fonts and structure."

 

Helene Clara Gamper / HCG corporate designs

 

 

 

You want to take a look over my should to see how I create an infographic? Here you are: part 1 and part 2.

You can also download this article as a free whitepaper.

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

0

WIE SIE INFOGRAFIKEN OPTIMAL EINSETZEN KÖNNEN

Infografiken sind aus unserer heutigen, informationsüberfluteten Welt kaum mehr wegzudenken. Zu Recht, vermitteln sie doch Daten und komplexe Sachverhalte viel schneller und besser als reiner Text.

Infografiken werden im Schnitt 30 x häufiger gelesen als reiner Text.

Quelle: marketingfish.de, HubSpot

Visuelle Inhalte generieren 94 % mehr Sichtbarkeit.

Quelle: Buffer, HubSpot

Wir merken uns 80 %

von dem, was wir sehen;

20 % von dem, was wir lesen; und 10 % von dem, was wir hören.

Quelle: Buffer, HubSpot

Visuelle Inhalte gehören zu den fünf effektivsten B2B-Marketing-Maßnahmen.

Quelle: HubSpot

ARTEN VON INFOGRAFIKEN

 

Mittlerweile gibt es unterschiedliche Arten von Datenvisualisierungen:

 

I   statische Infografik (der Klassiker als Bilddatei) >> Beispiel

I   Gifografik (animierte gif-Bilddatei) >> Beispiel

I   web-basierte Infografik (dezent animiert, zB auf HTML5-Basis als eigene Website) >> Beispiel

I   speziell programmierte, web-basierte Infografik mit Interaktionen >> Beispiel

 

Übrigens: Der Data Gif Maker von Google ermöglicht es Ihnen, schnell und unkompliziert eine einfache Gifografik im Google Material Design zu erstellen - ohne Hinzuziehen eines Grafikdesigners. Meinen Testbericht dazu lesen Sie hier.

TOLLE EINSATZMÖGLICHKEITEN FÜR INFO-/GIFOGRAFIKEN

WERBEAUSSENDUNG

 

Wie viele Werbeaussendungen bekommen Sie pro Woche mit der Post? Fünf, zehn, fünfzehn oder mehr? Und wie viele davon sehen Sie sich wirklich genauer an, wie viele Werbeaussendungen lesen Sie tatsächlich durch? Womöglich nur eine oder zwei - wenn überhaupt.

 

Klassische Werbeaussendungen kosten viel Geld und bringen, je nach Branche, eine Rücklaufquote von oft weniger als 3 %. Da Infografiken 30 x häufiger gelesen werden als Text, macht es durchaus Sinn die Werbeaussendung als Infografik zu gestalten. So stehen die Chancen gut, Ihren ROI (Return on Investment) um ein Vielfaches zu erhöhen.

 

Vor einigen Jahren (2013) erstellte ich eine Infografik für die Hamburger Werbemittelagentur Kleine & Jockers, die in gedruckter Form verschickt wurde.

 

„Die Infografik über Werbeartikel ist super geworden. Die Anforderung die Fakten zum Thema Werbeartikel auf leichte Art und Weise rüberzubringen ist unserer Meinung und, was viel wichtiger ist, der unserer Kunden großartig gelungen. Den Werbeartikel als günstigen und effektiven Werbeträger in den Köpfen unserer Kunden zu verankern, ist das Ziel der Werbeartikel-Infografik. Die unkomplizierte und professionelle Umsetzung der Gestaltung war bei HCG in besten Händen.“

 

Andreas Kleine, Kleine & Jockers GmbH

Hamburg, Deutschland

MIKROCONTENT AUF SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Content Marketing wird von vielen Firmen als Werkzeug zur Neukundengewinnung, emotionaler Kundenbindung und Imagestärkung eingesetzt - ursprünglich mehr im B2C-Sektor, mittlerweile hat B2B nachgezogen. Gerade auf Social Media ist es wichtig die Aufmerksamkeit der Leute schnell für sich zu gewinnen. Und hier kommt Mikrocontent ins Spiel. Mikrocontent sind kleine Informationshäppchen, die schnell konsumiert und verbreitet werden können. Kleine Infografiken oder (noch besser für Social Media) kleine animierte Gifografiken sind eine tolle Sache um den User zu fesseln. Die Aufmerksamkeit ist Ihnen bzw. Ihrem Social-Media-Post somit sicher! Außerdem wird solcher Mikrocontent gerne in den sozialen Netzwerken geteilt und kann sich so relativ schnell verbreiten.

 

Auch ich setze animierte Gifografiken als Mikrocontent ein, hier sehen Sie ein Beispiel:

(Copyright: HCG corporate designs)

Doch auch Zitate verwende ich gern als Mikrocontent:

"Ich habe einen Tipp für Sie:

In meinem Online-Shop können Sie Gifografiken sowie 'light'-Infografiken direkt kaufen."

Helene Clara Gamper

LANDING PAGE

 

Eine Landing Page bzw. Website mit Infografik-Elementen und subtilen Animationen ist eine tolle Sache um den Verkauf eines Produkts bzw. einer Dienstleistung voranzutreiben. Egal ob es sich um die Bewerbung eines Produkts oder klassisches Storytelling zur Imagestärkung handelt, eine Infografik-Landing-Page kommt einfach super bei den Leuten an.

 

Zum 5-jährigen Geburtstag von HCG corporate designs im Jahre 2015 erstellte ich eine solche web-basierte Infografik auf HTML5-Basis als für sich stehende Website

 

Meine Vorgehensweise zur Erstellung von Geschäftsbericht-Apps habe ich im Storytelling-Format ebenfalls auf einer eigenen Landing Page umgesetzt.

 

 

POSTER AUF VERANSTALTUNGEN

 

Ein wahrer Eyecatcher sind Infografiken als Poster auf zB Messen, Veranstaltungen oder im öffentlichen Raum. Vor allem das rasche Auffasen von Informationen durch Infografiken bietet auf Messen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Schließlich konkurrieren zahlreiche Messestände untereinander.

EDITORIAL CONTENT

 

Da es Infografiken schaffen, in kürzester Zeit einen komplexen Sachverhalt verständlich darzustellen, eignen sie sich natürlich bestens für redaktionelle Inhalte. Gerade in schwierigen Zeiten, die Verlage seit Jahren durchleben, sind solch attraktiv gestaltete Inhalte eine schöne Sache.

 

Rechts sehen Sie eine (statische) Infografik, die ich 2014 für ein Magazin erstellt habe. Es wurde auf einer A4-Ganzseite abgedruckt.

 

Unten sehen Sie eine auf dem iPad interaktiv bedienbare Infografik, die ich 2015 für einen App-Magazin-Kunden gestaltet und umgesetzt habe.

WISSENSVERMITTLUNG IM UNTERRICHT

 

Das einfache Erfassen komplexer Sachverhalte und/oder Zahlenmaterial ist natürlich auch im Unterricht wichtig. Deshalb sollten meiner Meinung nach viel mehr Schulen, Universitäten und Fortbildungseinrichtungen auf Infografiken zurückgreifen.

 

 

BEDIENUNGSANLEITUNGEN

 

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie müssen etwas zusammenbauen, zum Beispiel einen Sessel. Würden Sie das lieber machen, indem Sie einen Text durchlesen, in dem beschrieben ist, wie Sie diesen besagten Sessel zusammenschrauben sollen? Oder hätten Sie lieber eine Grafik bzw. eine Illustration vor sich, in der Sie sehen, welche Schraube wohin gehört usw. ? 

 

Der schwedische Möbelgigant Ikea macht das nicht nur bei seinen Möbelstücken so, sondern mittlerweile auch bei Rezepten für schwedisches Essen. Schauen Sie mal:

Foto: Leo Burnett

 

In diesem Video sehen Sie mehr:

EINE BOTSCHAFT IN MEHREREN SPRACHEN

 

Wenn Sie eine Botschaft in mehreren Sprachen gleichzeitig transportieren möchten, kommen Sie um Infografiken nicht herum. Es gibt keine andere Möglichkeit der visuellen Informationsvermittlung, bei der Sie so wenig (oder überhaupt gar keinen!) Text benötigen.

„Ich gestalte Infografiken für Print und Digital, statisch und animiert. So gut wie jedes beliebige Thema

kann grafisch perfekt aufbereitet und visualisiert werden und somit 30 x mehr Beachtung

bei Ihrer Zielgruppe finden als reiner Text.

 

Als Designer habe ich oft mit Corporate Designs und Branding zu tun. Deshalb lege ich besonders viel Wert darauf, dass Infografiken perfekt auf die Zielgruppe und den Look meiner Kunden abgestimmt sind. Hinter jeder meiner Infografiken steckt ein Konzept hinsichtlich Farben, Formen, Schriften und Struktur.“

 

Helene Clara Gamper / HCG corporate designs

 

 

 

Sie wollen mir über die Schulter schauen, wie ich eine Infografik gestalte? Bitteschön: Teil 1 und Teil 2.

Sie können sich dieses Thema auch als kostenloses Whitepaper herunterladen.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB
0