RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY IN GERMANY:

MORE AFFORDABLE THAN EVER

 

In 2017, residential property in Germany was more affordable by 40 % than back in 1980.

Why is that?

Residential property in Germany was more affordable by 40.2 % in 2017 compared to 1980.

- 40.2 %

Price to income ratio              1980          2017

The price to income ratio (= comparison of the nominal house price to the nominal disposable income per head) in Germany was lower by 40.2 % in 2017 compared to 1980. This shows, residential property has become more affordable in Germany over time.

Price income ratio

nominal house price

1995

2016

household disposable income

The price to income ratio can be considered as a measure of affordability.  The lower this figure, the more affordable the residential property.

The household disposable income was higher by 90.4 % in 2016 compared to 1995. The nominal house price has increased only by 21.3 % within the same time span. This shows in a price income ratio decrease of 18.9 %. This means, residential property has become more affordable by 18.9 %.

HOW IS THE SITUATION COMPARED TO OTHER COUNTRIES?

 

(Data on Germany serves as a 100 % basis for illustrations.)

UNITED KINGDOM (UK)

UNITED STATES (US)
AUSTRALIA

JAPAN

- 32 %

Residential property in Japan was more affordable by 32 % in 2016 compared to 1995.

 

DEFINITIONS:

household disposable income (gross adjusted, US dollars/capita): Real household net disposable income is defined as the sum of household final consumption expenditure and savings, minus the change in net equity of households in pension funds. This indicator also corresponds to the sum of wages and salaries, mixed income, net property income, net current transfers and social benefits other than social transfers in kind, less taxes on income and wealth and social security contributions paid by employees, the self-employed and the unemployed. Household gross adjusted disposable income additionally reallocates "income" from government and non-profit institutions serving households (NPISHs) to households to reflect social transfers in kind. These transfers reflect expenditures made by government or NPISHs on individual goods and services, such as health and education, on behalf of an individual household. The indicator includes the disposable income of non-profit institutions serving households. Disposable income, as a concept, is closer to the idea of income as generally understood in economics, than is either national income or gross domestic product (GDP). This indicator is measured in terms of net in annual growth rates and in terms of gross adjusted in USD per capita at current prices and PPPs. All OECD countries compile their data according to the 2008 System of National Accounts (SNA).

nominal house price: In most cases, the nominal house price covers the sale of newly-built and existing dwellings, following the recommendations from RPPI (Residential Property Prices Indices) manual.

Price to income ratio: The price to income ratio is the nominal house price divided by the nominal disposable income per head and can be considered as a measure of affordability. The lower this figure, the more affordable the residential property.

DATA SOURCE: OECD (2018), Housing prices (indicator). doi: 10.1787/63008438-en (Accessed on 21 September 2018).

RESEARCH AND DESIGN: HCG corporate designs.

0

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

#10yearsHCG

WOHNEIGENTUM IN DEUTSCHLAND:

ERSCHWINGLICHER DENN JE

 

2017 war Wohneigentum in Deutschland um 40 % leistbarer als noch 1980.

Woran liegt das?

Wohneigentum in Deutschland war 2017 um 40,2 % erschwinglicher als noch 1980.

- 40,2 %

Preis-Einkommen-Ratio          1980          2017

Die Preis-Einkommen-Ratio (= Verhältnis nomineller Immobilienpreis zu verfügbarem Pro-Kopf-Einkommen) in Deutschland war 2017 um 40,2 % niedriger als noch im Jahre 1980. Auf lange Sicht wurden Immobilien in Deutschland somit immer erschwinglicher. 

Preis-Einkommen-Ratio
nomineller Immobilienpreis
1995
2016
verfügbares Haushaltseinkommen
Die Preis-Einkommen-Ratio drückt die Leistbarkeit von Immobilien aus. Je niedriger diese Kennzahl, desto leistbarer ist die Immobilie.

Das verfügbare Haushaltseinkommen war 2016 um 90,4 % höher als noch 1995. Im gleichen Zeitraum stieg der nominelle Immobilienpreis lediglich um 21,3 %. Dies spiegelt sich in einer 18,9 % niedrigeren Preis-Einkommen-Ratio wider. Das Wohneigentum wurde also um 18,9 % erschwinglicher.

WIE IST DIE SITUATION IM VERGLEICH ZU ANDEREN LÄNDERN?

 

(Als 100-%-Basis der grafischen Darstellungen gelten jeweils die Daten aus Deutschland.)

VEREINIGTES KÖNIGREICH (UK)

VEREINIGTE STAATEN (US)

AUSTRALIEN

JAPAN

- 32 %

Wohneigentum in Japan war 2016 um 32 %   erschwinglicher als noch 1995.

 
BEGRIFFSDEFINITIONEN:
verfügbares Haushaltseinkommen (bereinigt, US-Dollar/Kopf): Das real verfügbare Nettoeinkommen der privaten Haushalte ist definiert als die Summe der Konsumausgaben und Ersparnisse abzüglich der Veränderung des Netto-Eigenkapitals der Haushalte in Pensionsfonds. Dieser Indikator entspricht auch der Summe aus Löhnen und Gehältern, gemischtem Einkommen, Netto-Vermögenseinkommen, laufenden Nettoüberweisungen und anderen sozialen Leistungen als Sozialleistungen, abzüglich Einkommens- und Vermögenssteuern, die von Arbeitnehmern, den Selbständigen und den Arbeitslosen gezahlt werden. Das bereinigte verfügbare Einkommen der privaten Haushalte ordnet das "Einkommen" der staatlichen und gemeinnützigen Einrichtungen (NPISHs) zusätzlich den privaten Haushalten zu, um soziale Sachtransfers zu berücksichtigen. Diese Transfers spiegeln die Ausgaben wider, die von Regierungen oder Nicht-Regierungsangehörigen für einzelne Güter und Dienstleistungen wie Gesundheit und Bildung im Namen eines einzelnen Haushalts getätigt werden. Der Indikator umfasst das verfügbare Einkommen von Non-Profit-Organisationen. Das verfügbare Einkommen als Konzept ist der Vorstellung von Einkommen, wie sie in der Volkswirtschaft allgemein verstanden wird, näher als das Volkseinkommen oder das Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP). Dieser Indikator wird als Netto in jährlichen Wachstumsraten und als brutto in US-Dollar pro Kopf zu aktuellen Preisen und KKP gemessen. Alle OECD-Länder stellen ihre Daten gemäß dem System of National Account (SNA) von 2008 zusammen.
nomineller Immobilienpreis: In den meisten Fällen betrifft dies den Verkauf von neu gebautem und bestehendem Wohnraum auf Empfehlung des Handbuchs „Residential Property Prices Indices“.
Preis-Einkommen-Ratio: Verhältnis nomineller Immobilienpreis zu verfügbarem Pro-Kopf-Einkommen (nomineller Immobilienpreis dividiert durch verfügbares Netto-Einkommen pro Kopf). Die Preis-Einkommen-Ratio drückt die Leistbarkeit von Immobilien aus. Je niedriger diese Kennzahl, desto leistbarer ist die Immobilie.
DATENQUELLE: OECD (2018), Housing prices (indicator). doi: 10.1787/63008438-en (Accessed on 21 September 2018).
RECHERCHE UND DESIGN: HCG corporate designs.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

0