BRAND DESIGN - CUBILE MONITORING HEALTH

 

CORPORATE IDENTITY DESIGN, CREATIVE LOGO DESIGN, MAGAZINE LAYOUT DESIGN, INFOGRAPHIC DESIGN

CubileHealth is an innovative start-up in the medical industry. The Cubile hardware consists of a foam pad and a small box. The pad is placed underneath a bed’s mattress and measures smallest movements of the patient in a hospital, care home or at home. It collects data about heart and breathing rate, mobility, bed exit and more and sends the data to mobile devices (tablets, smartphones) and computers. The Cubile app detects minimal changes of standard values and then sends a signal to the doctor/nurses in real-time. This allows for more staff efficiency.

Cubile was awarded with the Young Entrepreneur’s Award 2016 of the Austrian Chamber of Commerce and won the Startup Slam 2018 of dHealth. However, the old corporate design, the old logo in particular, was often interpreted wrong and misunderstood by the target group. This is why I was hired in order to create a new brand design including a new creative logo design that triggers the target group successfully and makes them understand the product much better. In addition to that, I designed an infographic, created a magazine layout design (brochure), a website, various icons, a PowerPoint presentation template and a modular exhibition wall.

As "signal upon movement" plays a central role for the Cubile sensors, I translated this into the creative logo design and developed an animated company logo design that is used for digital purposes. The "l" minuscule in "cubile" moves, touches the (foam) pad underneath, generates a warning signal and turns into an exclamation mark.

This exclamation mark, combined with the yellow line, stands for the Cubile app (app icon) which sends the warning signal to doctors and nurses in real-time. The app icon increases brand recognition and works perfectly in small and big sizes, printed and digital.

The cubile letters were set in Neo Sans Pro Bold, with +10 % wider letterspacing. The upper ends of the b- and l-minuscules as well as the exclamation mark’s height were manually shifted upwards in order to improve the logo’s readability especially in smaller sizes. Slightly rounded letter ends and a bold style make this font look positive, friendly and still strong and serious.

Neo Sans Std is used for headers in all communication materials. This font is modern and has a subtly futuristic look & feel, without looking dated. Even though, Neo Sans seems quite geometric, the subtly rounded letter ends give it a positive vibe. These rounded letter ends come across very nice especially in a bold style and big size, which is why Neo Sans Std is solely used for headers and corresponding sub-headers.

For all the other text parts I chose Ubuntu, a technically looking, clear font that shows a distinctive character (see t and f). Besides that, Ubuntu is very well suited for being used in small sizes, which makes it perfect for smartphones for example.

Primary colours for the new brand design of Cubile are asphalt grey, alert yellow and pure white. Secondary colours are stone grey and clinic turquoise.

cubile web design

The yellow bar bleeding off the right side, combined with the app icon on the left side, serves as the visual constant that goes through all communication materials. It maximises Cubile’s brand design recognition.

I drew several icons to represent what Cubile measures in an easy and understandable way. The visual constant (the yellow line of the creative logo design and app icon) is used in clinic turquoise for these icons in order to create an optical relation to the company logo design.

The infographic shows a hospital ward equipped with Cubile. This data visualization makes the target group understand Cubile faster.

Cubile needed a flexible and cost-effective way to present themselves at international exhibitions. This is why I designed a modular exhibition wall that can be put together depending on the fair stand’s size.

cubile medical web design
cubile Web design

Just like the magazine layout design / brochure, the website was made in two languages (German and English). It’s fully responsive for desktops, tablets and as a mobile website for smartphones.

All photos for this project were taken by my cooperation partner Paul Santek.

You can find more detailed information in the brand design manual (styleguide).

0

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

Qualitätsstandards Corporate Design

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

#10yearsHCG

CUBILE - MONITORING HEALTH

 

CORPORATE DESIGN, MEDIENGESTALTUNG, INFOGRAFIK

Die CubileHealth GmbH ist ein innovatives Start-Up im Medizinbereich und greift das Thema Digitalisierung in der berührungslosen Patientenüberwachung auf. Die Cubile-Hardware besteht aus einem Schaumstoffpad und einem kleinen Kästchen. Das Schaumstoffpad wird unter die Krankenbettmatratze gelegt und misst minimalste Bewegungen des Patienten im Krankenhaus, Pflegeheim oder zu Hause. Diese Daten umfassen zB Herz- und Atemfrequenz, Dekubitus-Gefahr, Sturz-Gefahr, Bettnässe, Harn-Nieren-Werte usw. und werden in Echtzeit an diverse mobile Endgeräte (Tablets, Smartphones) und Stand-Computer (zB Stationscomputer auf einer Krankenstation) geschickt. Bei Abweichungen von Normwerten signalisiert die Cubile-App dem Pflegepersonal bzw. Arzt, welcher Patient akut Hilfe benötigt. Dies ermöglicht unter anderem einen effizienten Einsatz von Personalressourcen.

Cubile gewann den Jungunternehmerpreis 2016 der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich sowie den Startup Slam 2018 von dHealth. Der alte Firmenauftritt, insbesondere das alte Logo, wurde in der Praxis jedoch von der Zielgruppe oftmals fehlinterpretiert bzw. nicht verstanden. Deshalb wurde ich beauftragt den Firmenauftritt neu zu gestalten, sodass die Zielgruppe angesprochen und das Produkt verstanden wird. Darüber hinaus wurden eine Infografik, eine Broschüre, eine Website, diverse Icons, eine PowerPoint-Präsentationsvorlage und eine modulare Messewand designt.

Da „Signal bei Bewegung“ eine zentrale Rolle für die Cubile-Sensorik spielt, griff ich dieses Thema für das Logo auf und entwickelte ein animiertes Logo, das in der digitalen Kommunikation Verwendung findet. Die „l“-Minuskel von „cubile“ bewegt sich, berührt das (Schaumstoff-)Pad darunter, löst somit ein Warnsignal aus und mutiert zu einem Ausrufezeichen.

Dieses Ausrufeziechen stellt in Verbindung mit dem gelben Strich die Cubile-App dar (App Icon), die das Warnsignal in Echtzeit an die verantwortlichen Ärzte bzw. das zuständige Pflegepersonal schickt. Das App Icon sorgt für eine sofortige Wiedererkennung mit Cubile, funktioniert perfekt in sämtlichen Größen, egal ob in gedruckter oder digitaler Form.

Der cubile-Schriftzug wurde in Neo Sans Pro Bold gesetzt, mit + 10 % Spazionierung. Die oberen Enden der b- und l-Minuskeln sowie die Höhe des Ausrufezeichens wurden manuell nach oben gezogen um eine bessere Lesbarkeit vor allem in kleiner Logogröße zu gewährleisten. Minimal abgerundete Buchstabenenden sowie ein fetter Schnitt lassen diese Schrift sympathisch, freundlich und dennoch stark und seriös wirken.

Neo Sans Std wird in weiterer Folge für Überschriften in der Unternehmenskommunikation verwendet. Diese Schrift ist sehr modern, mit einem leicht futuristischen Look & Feel, ohne dabei kurzlebig zu wirken. Auch wenn Neo Sans relativ geometrisch wirkt, verleihen die subtil abgerundeten Buchstabenenden der Schrift einen sympathischen Touch. Diese abgerundeten Buchstabenenden kommen vor allem in fettem Schnitt und großer Buchstabengröße zur Geltung, weshalb Neo Sans Std ausschließlich für Überschriften und zugehörige Leadtexte zum Einsatz kommt.

Für alle anderen Texte wählte ich Ubuntu, eine technisch anmutende Schrift, die durch Klarheit besticht und trotzdem Charakter hat und markant ist (siehe t und f ). Außerdem wurde Ubuntu so konzipiert, dass die Schrift auch auf Bildschirm-Anwendungen bzw. in kleiner Größe auf Smartphones sehr gut lesbar ist.

Die Primärfarben für Cubile sind asphaltgrau, Hinweisgelb und reinweiß. Die Sekundärfarben sind steingrau und Klinik-Türkis.

Der gelbe, nach rechts hin abfallende Balken in Kombination mit dem App Icon auf der linken Seite ist die optische Konstante, die sich durch alle Kommunikationsmittel zieht und den Wiedererkennungswert von Cubile maximiert.

Ich zeichnete diverse Icons um die Messwerte von Cubile einfach und leicht verständlich darzustellen. Die visuelle Konstante (die gelbe Linie des Logos bzw. App Icons) wird in Klinik-Türkis für diese Icons verwendet, um auch hier wieder eine optische Verbindung zum Logo herzustellen.

Die Infografik bzw. Übersichtsgrafik zeigt eine Krankenstation, die mit Cubile ausgestattet ist und soll dem schnellen Verständnis bei der Zielgruppe dienen. 

Um einen flexiblen und kosten-effizienten Messauftritt zu gewährleisten, wurde eine modulare Messewand gestaltet, die je nach Messestand-Größe zusammengebaut werden kann.

cubile-webdesign-4.jpg
cubile Webdesign

Wie auch die Broschüre, wurde die Website in deutscher und englischer Sprache umgesetzt und ist voll responsiv für Desktop-Geräte, Tablets und als mobile Website für Smartphones.

Sämtliche Fotos für diesen Auftrag wurden übrigens von meinem Kooperationspartner Paul Santek angefertigt.

Das Corporate-Design-Handbuch mit weiteren Details können Sie hier einsehen.

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

0