BLICKPUNKT LKW & BUS

 

APP MAGAZINE DESIGN

Blickpunkt LKW+BUS (Kufstein, Austria) is Austria’s largest special interest magazine for the transport industry. I’ve been responsible for the ongoing layouting since 2010. In autumn 2017, I modernized the entire look and feel of the publishing house – from the logo to the magazine layout to the website including blog.

In addition to the print magazine, an app magazine for iOS tablets and phones was launched in the end of 2011. Since 2015, Android devices are supported, too. After only four years the app counted nearly 10,000 unique downloads, by now the unique downloads have almost reached the 13,000 benchmark (12,899 unique app downloads as per 5 May 2020; sources: Apple App Store, Google Play Store).

In spring 2020 the app was completely restructured and shifted towards an article-based approach in order to comply with the latest market standards. Besides reading full magazine issues, users can now also read single articles separately on demand, which are smartly grouped by manufacturers and topics.

Downloading single articles separately instead of full magazine issues leads to a much smaller storage capacity on the users’ mobile devices. Besides that, the users can determine themselves which articles they wish to read online and which articles they prefer to read in offline mode (for example on a plane).

"The app is very neat and easy to use. I like the fact that you can browse through previous issues. I also like the breakdown into different sections because I can find specific interesting articles more easily. For me personally, you made a good job on the app!"

Carmen Haderer
Iveco Austria, Head of Marketing

"I find the app great and currently - due to Corona - have enough time to really engage with it - a good time for the app as my print edition of Blickpunkt LKW & BUS lies on my office desk, all alone."

Mag.(FH) Ulrike Kobler
Mercedes-Benz Trucks Austria, Press & Services Communication

In addition to that, the app offers further possibilities for monetization for the publishing house. The flexible and modular app surface allows for a flexible and modular placement of advertising banners that lead to the advertiser’s website when tapping. When closing the internet browser, the app user is back in the app. This makes sure the readers do not leave the app by accident.

Readers simply love the app which is reflected by top ratings in the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. The app is perceived as very reader-friendly, intuitive to use and always up to date.

“1 medium – 4 channels” is the motto of Blickpunkt LKW & BUS. This covers the printed magazine, the digital app, the Youtube channel as well as the blog on the website. All communication channels are actively fed with information on a regular basis.

“The cross-media approach strengthens the brand’s presence and has resulted in a rise of 21 % in advertising revenue since launching the app.”


CEO Blickpunkt LKW+BUS

0

DO NOT MISS OUT

WITH THE BI-MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Get inspired by latest design projects, news from my design blog and get exclusive access to goodies and vouchers that only newsletter recipients are entitled to.

Every two months in your mailbox - subscribe now so you don't miss out on anything.

Qualitätsstandards Corporate Design

YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH!

#10yearsHCG

BLICKPUNKT LKW & BUS

 

APP-MAGAZIN

Blickpunkt LKW & BUS (Kufstein, Österreich) ist Österreichs größtes Fachmagazin für die Transportbranche. Seit 2010 bin ich für die laufende Mediengestaltung verantwortlich, im Herbst 2017 modernisierte ich den optischen Auftritt des Magazins und führte einen crossmedialen Relaunch durch – vom Logo über das Magazin bis hin zur Website inkl. Blog. 

Neben dem gedruckten Heft gibt es das Magazin seit Ende 2011 auch als interaktives und multimediales App-Magazin für iOS-Tablets und –Phones. Seit 2015 werden zudem auch Android-Geräte bedient. Nach nur vier Jahren zählte das App-Magazin bereits 10.000 unique Downloads, mittlerweile erreichen die unique Downloads knapp die 13.000er Marke (12.899 unique App-Downloads per 5.5.2020; Quellen: Apple App Store, Google Play Store).

Im Frühjahr 2020 wurde die App auf eine artikelbasierte Struktur umgestellt und komplett überarbeitet um aktuellen Marktgegebenheiten Rechnung zu tragen. So können neben den klassischen Magazinen auch einzelne Artikel, logisch gruppiert nach Herstellermarken und Themenbereichen, gelesen werden.

Das Herunterladen von einzelnen Artikeln anstelle ganzer Magazinausgaben führt zu einem geringeren Speicherbedarf der App auf den mobilen Endgeräten der Nutzer. Außerdem kann der Leser selbst bestimmen, welche Artikel er online oder im Offline-Modus (zB im Flugzeug) lesen möchte.

"Die App ist sehr übersichtlich gestaltet und einfach zu bedienen. Ich finde es auch sehr gut, dass man die älteren Ausgaben durchblättern kann. Auch die Unterteilungen in Neuvorstellungen, Fahrzeug-Test usw. ist spannend, da man so schneller auf individuelle Artikel klicken kann. Für mich persönlich eine gut gelungene App!"

Carmen Haderer
Iveco Austria, Marketing-Leitung

"Ich finde die App super und habe aktuell (wegen Corona) auch die Zeit mich wirklich damit zu beschäftigen – also auch guten Zeitpunkt gewählt in dem meine Print-Ausgabe von Blickpunkt LKW & BUS einsam in der Firma auf dem Schreibtisch liegt."

Mag.(FH) Ulrike Kobler
Mercedes-Benz Trucks Österreich, Presse & Services Communication

Darüber hinaus bietet die App eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit der Monetarisierung für den Verlag. Die flexible und modulare App-Oberfläche ermöglicht ein ebenso flexibles wie modulares Platzieren von bezahlten Werbeflächen, die mit einem Tap auf die Website des Werbekunden führen. Beim Schließen des Internet-Browsers befindet sich der Nutzer wieder in der App, was einen Leseabbruch der App verhindert.

Das digitale Lesevergnügen spiegelt sich in Top-Bewertungen im Apple App Store sowie im Google Play Store wider. Die App wird als besonders lesefreundlich, intuitiv bedienbar und als stets „up to date“ wahrgenommen.  

„1 Medium – 4 Kanäle“ lautet das Motto des Verlags. Dabei werden das gedruckte Heft, die digitale App, der Youtube-Kanal sowie der Blog auf der Website aktiv genutzt und laufend als Informationskanäle bespielt.

„Der crossmediale Ansatz stärkt die Markenpräsenz und sorgte für ein Umsatzplus von 21 % an Werbeeinnahmen seit Einführung der App.“


Verlagsleitung Blickpunkt LKW+BUS

0

NICHTS VERPASSEN

MIT DEM NEWSLETTER ALLE 2 MONATE FREI MAILBOX

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren von aktuellen Kundenprojekten, News aus dem Design-Blog und bekommen Sie exklusiven Zugang zu Goodies und Aktionen, die ausschließlich Newsletter-Empfängern vorbehalten sind.

Alle zwei Monate frei Mailbox - jetzt anmelden, damit Sie nichts mehr verpassen.

Datenschutz     Impressum     AGB

IHNEN GEFÄLLT, WAS SIE SEHEN? SCHREIBEN SIE MIR!

#10yearsHCG